Weaving + print = nice

This week I’ve finally finished my turquoise weaving project. It was made with ecru cottolin (warp) and turquoise/blue/orange cotton (weft). It shrunk quite a lot, so the question was : “What am I going to make of it ?” A table runner ? Placemats ? A pillow cover ?

And then I realised I still have a piece of cotton fabric with my squirrel designs on it. The squirrel design was also made by me by  photographing squirrels, nuts, mushrooms and leafs while we were in Sweden. Then I’ve transferred these photos into a graphic design. I’ve picked the colours from the photos and had the design printed on fabric. Et voilà, my squirrel design was born.

So this time I’ve decided to combine printed design with weaving. It took my half a day to make this pillow cover because the weaving cloth was very difficult to cut and sew. But hej ….who said designing was easy ?

I hope you like it : my weaving + print pillow cover squirrels.

Weaving + printed squirrels by ilsephilips.nl

Weaving + printed squirrels by ilsephilips.nl

Weaving + printed squirrels by ilsephilips.nl

Weaving + printed squirrels by ilsephilips.nl

Weaving + printed squirrels by ilsephilips.nl

Weaving + printed squirrels by ilsephilips.nl

2 thoughts on “Weaving + print = nice

Leave a Reply

